Roxwel News

Middle Brother Releases Debut Album

by Unknown // Friday, February 25, 2011 // News, Upfront // 0 Comments


An indie-folk dream came true when Taylor Goldsmith of Dawes, John McCauley of Deer Tick and Matthew Vasquez of Delta Spirit joined forces to form a band together called Middle Brother.

Middle Brother played their first show at last year's SXSW in Austin, TX at a tiny, late-night, unannounced event under the name "MG&V." Other than recording the album and rehearsing once, they had never played the songs live.
Whoever stumbled upon this little shindig in the midst of SXSW craziness were some lucky sons of b**ches. The audience was treated to an unforgettable set by a band of musical comrades who are known not only for their incredible songwriting, but for each member's sense of song and performance.

While it seems as if synthesizers and laptops are taking over stages and eating all raw the stuff, Goldsmith, McCauly and Vasquez are leading the pack of young rock songwriters who strive to carry on the tradition of musical legends like Neil Young, Bruce Springsteen and Tom Petty. With raw melodic and harmonic tunes and soulful, compassionate and confessional lyrics, these guys are certain make both your heart swoon and your head rock.

The band came to together in mid-2009 when the three realized, after several on-stage collaborations, that they shared the same musical vision. The guys took that vision into the studio to create an album that captures the each of the members' respective talents as well as the real power of the band as a unique trio.

Middle Brother has announced that they will be touring throughout the US in March, beginning in Washington, D.C., on March 2 and ending in Austin, TX on March 19. The band has now added shows in April that will include dates in California from April 3-8.

Additionally, Dawes, Deer Tick, Blake Mills and Jonny Corndawg will be performing full sets on select dates along the way.

Middle Brother's self-titled debut album will available in stores and online through Partisan Records on March 1, 2011. Be sure and check these guys out!