Roxwel News

by Unknown // Monday, October 31, 2011 // News, Upfront // 0 Comments

A new album of unheard Amy Winehouse material is to be released in December.

'Amy Winehouse Lioness: Hidden Treasures' features never before heard songs by the 'Back to Black' singer - who died unexpectedly in July as she was working on her third album - as well as her versions of other people's songs collected from recordings made throughout her career.

Among the songs included on the album are original 'Between the Cheats,' an emotional never before heard track about her ex-husband Blake Fielder-Civil, and cover 'A Song for You' - made famous by Donny Hathaway - which Amy recorded in a single take while recovering from drug addiction in 2009.

After listening back to the album for the first time, Amy's father, Mitch, told The Sun newspaper: "I spent so much time chasing after Amy - telling her off - that I never realized what a true genius she was.

"It wasn't until I sat down with the rest of the family and listened to this album that I fully appreciated the breadth of her talent. From jazz standards to hip-hop songs, it took my breath away.

"One of the new songs on the album, 'Halftime,' I'd never heard before. It is just incredibly beautiful."

The album has been put together by Salaam Remi and Mark Ronson, producers who had worked with Amy on her two albums, 'Frank,' and 'Back to Black.' They listened to thousands of hours of vocals recorded by the singer in order to pick out the songs for inclusion on the record.

Salaam said: "When I listened back you would hear some of the conversations in between - that was emotional. I believe she has left something beyond her years. She has put a body of work together that will inspire an unborn generation.

"I'm blessed to be part of that process, to have known that person and to continue her legacy with this album."

The album will be released on December 5, and $1 from every sale will go to the newly established Amy Winehouse Foundation, which is helping a number of children's charities.


'Amy Winehouse Lioness: Hidden Treasures' tracklisting:

1. 'Our Day Will Come (Reggae Version)' - Cover of a doo-wop standard

2. 'Between the Cheats' - Previously unreleased new song

3. 'Tears Dry' - Original ballad version of 'Tears Dry on Their Own'

4. 'Wake up Alone' - March 2006 demo

5. 'Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow' - Cover of Shirelles song

6. 'Valerie' - Slower version of track recorded with Mark Ronson

7. 'Like Smoke' featuring Nas - Previously unreleased new song

8. 'The Girl from Ipanema' - Cover of bossa nova standard

9. 'Halftime' - Previously unreleased new song

10. 'Best Friends' - February 2003 recording

11. 'Body and Soul' with Tony Bennett - Cover of jazz standard

12. 'A Song for You' - Cover of Leon Russell song recorded spring 2009

by Unknown // Friday, October 28, 2011 // News, Upfront // 0 Comments

Michael Stipe's R.E.M. bandmate does not expect him to launch a solo career.

The 'Everybody Hurts' group announced last month that they are to separate after 31 years together but bassist Mike Mills thinks the singer will concentrate on other projects rather than continue to pursue a musical career.

He told Mojo magazine: "I don't think that music is where his passion lies. I think he wants to be in the visual arts. I imagine Michael will do a lot of sculpture and photography. I think those are his big interests now."

Mike recently admitted he doesn't think R.E.M. - which also includes Peter Buck - will ever share a stage together again.

Discussing their split, he said: "There is sadness because I will never play on the same stage as Peter and Michael again. We're doing this for good reasons, and we end up looking back at all the fun, the joy and the incredible opportunities we had.

"It's not because we have to or we can't stand each other or we suck. We're happy, but we're done."

To mark the end of their career, the band are to release a new greatest hits compilation, entitled 'Part Lies, Part Heart, Part Truth, Part Garbage: 1982-2011,' next month.


by Unknown // Thursday, October 27, 2011 // News, Upfront // 0 Comments

Coldplay kicked off their European tour by streaming a concert live from the Plaza de Toros de Las Ventas in Madrid last night.

The British band performed a set which included songs from their new album 'Mylo Xyloto' and their extensive back catalogue at the show, held at the famous bullfighting venue in Spain, directed by Anton Corbijn and watched by millions around the world on YouTube as part of the American Express Unstaged series of shows.

The Dutch film director unleashed a host of artistic extras on the crowd throughout the show including a shower of paper butterflies during 'Hurts Like Heaven,' confetti during 'In My Place' and balloons unleashed while the band played 'Lost.'

Singer Chris Martin said the band chose the majestic venue to match Anton's stunning visuals.

Speaking before the concert, he said: "We decided we'd like to do a concert which we'd broadcast on YouTube live around the world and just looked for some of the most beautiful buildings we could find and this is what we came up with, in one of the most beautiful cities in the world.".

The band - which also includes Jonny Buckland, Will Champion and Guy Berryman - wowed the crowd in with a mix of older hits including 'Yellow', 'Politik' and 'The Scientist' and newer material such as 'Paradise' and 'Violet Hill,' but it was the encore which impressed most with a stunning version of 'Fix You' which incorporated Amy Winehouse's 'Rehab.' Coldplay then closed the show with 'Every Teardrop is a Waterfall.'

Coldplay were performing as part of `American Express Unstaged,' the sixth installment within the music series and the first performance outside of the United States.

This innovative series brings together iconic music artists with renowned filmmakers who use digital and social media to connect the online audience to the live shows.

The gig was streamed live, but fans can watch it again at and keep up to date with `American Express Unstaged' news on Facebook at


Coldplay's full set list for Madrid show 26.10.11:

'Mylo Xyloto'

'Hurts Like Heaven'


'In My Place'

'Major Minus'


'The Scientist'

'Violet Hill'

'God Put A Smile Upon Your Face'


'Up in Flames'

'Til Kingdom Come


'Viva La Vida'

'Charlie Brown'

'Life Is For Living'



'Fix You' (with 'Rehab' intro)

'Every Teardrop is a Waterfall'

by Unknown // Wednesday, October 26, 2011 // News, Upfront // 0 Comments

Check out The Black Keys new video for "Lonely Boy" and get your groove on quick!!

This clip may or may not be the official video for the track, but it is officially genius. With the combination of this dancing fool totally owning dance moves like The Carlton, The Twist and The MJ (and mouthing and acting out some of the lyrics) and this awesome down-and-dirty boogie jam, these guys have mastered the essence (or wrath) of the Internet. This video screams "Replay." It's begging you to watch it over, and over and over again. Watch it just once - I dare you!

"Lonely Boy" is the first single off the forthcoming album El Camino - in stores Dec. 6th.