Roxwel News

by Unknown // Tuesday, November 24, 2009 // News, Upfront // 0 Comments

Roxwel caught up with Wild Light in Austin, TX to talk about what a big year 2009 has been for them. They talk about their biggest influences, touring hockey arenas with The Killers, their approach to writing lyrics, and their first single "California On My Mind."



by Unknown // Tuesday, November 24, 2009 // News, Upfront // 0 Comments



 The Avett Brothers are thrilled to announce their 2010 spring tour dates.  With their album I and Love and You debuting at number 16 on the Billboard charts and selling over 40,000 units during the first week alone, these North Carolina rockers haven’t shown any signs of slowing down. 

On the heels of an extremely successful 2009 year with their criticially acclaimed Rick Rubin produced album I and Love and You, and an extensive electryfiying US Tour, The Avett Brothers gear up to remind fans just how powerful a musical force this quartetis. Beginning their spring tour on Februrary 4th in Athens, OH the band will travel throughout the US and end up in Cumberland, MD on May 28th.

The Avett Brothers recently taped a special performance for PBS' Austin City Limits. This performance will air January 23rd on PBS. 











by Unknown // Monday, November 16, 2009 // News, Upfront // 0 Comments

Slayer Megadeth

Slayer. Megadeth.  Two names synonymous with fierce, crunching power.  Two bands whose histories are inevitably intertwined in defining the thrash/metal genre.  Individually, their respective prowess and accomplishments are impressive; but together, they're brutal and unstoppable.  Megadeth and Slayer will join forces to co-headline "American Carnage," the most blistering, the most explosive, and the most eagerly-antcipated mega-tour of the winter - and you do not want to miss it.

"American Carnage" will kick off on January 18 in Seattle, WA for a 26-date trek across North America

that will include the six Canadian dates postponed earlier this month.  Tickets for most shows go on sale this Friday, November 20.  Ticketmaster is offering a special presage for most shows from Wednesday, November 18 at 10AM until Thursday, November 19 at 10PM.

"American Carnage" is the first time that Slayer and Megadeth will have toured the U.S. together since 1991's epic "Clash of the Titans" tour.  To celebrate that, and in recognition of the tough economic times that many of their fans are having, Megadeth and Slayer have decided to roll back the price of a chunk of tickets at every U.S. show to the "1991 price" of $10.00.  These specially-priced tickets will be limited and when they're gone, they're gone.  Megadeth has also teamed with

 to provide an Ultimate Fan Package including premium seats, meet and greets, pre-show parties and more.

In addition, Testament, who was also on the '91 "Clash of the Titans" bill, will be Special Guests on the entire tour, marking the first time that all three bands have shared a stage together in more than 18 years, and making this a "must see" metal event.

Both Megadeth and Slayer will hit the road supporting new albums:  Megadeth's 2009 albumENDGAME, and Slayer's World Painted Blood, the band's 10th studio venture, which hit stores November 3.  Testament's The Formation of Damnation:  Special Tour Edition, will be released on February 23, 2010 with special unreleased bonus tracks.

Slayer and Megadeth are also rescheduling the east coast leg of the "Canadian Carnage tour, postponed from this fall.


Confirmed dates for "American Carnage" are as follows:



18 WaMu Theatre, Seattle, WA

19 Memorial Coliseum, Portland, OR  

21 Cow Palace, San Francisco, CA

22 Long Beach Arena, Long Beach, CA

23 Dodge Theatre, Phoenix, AZ

25 Magness Arena, Denver, C

26 Tingley Coliseum, Albuquerque, NM

27 El Paso Coliseum, El Paso, TX

29 Verizon Wireless, Houston, TX

31 Municipal Auditorium, Nashville, TN



 1 Gwinnett Arena, Duluth, GA

 2 Broadbent Arena, Louisville, KY

 4 Roy Wilkins Auditorium, Minneapolis, MN

 5 UIC Pavilion, Chicago, IL

 6 Cobo Arena, Detroit, MI

 9 Chevrolet Theatre, Wallingford, CT

11 Izod Center, East Rutherford, NJ

13 Susquehanna Center, Camden, NJ

14 Tsongas Arena, Lowell, MA

16 Pavillon de la Jeunesse, Quebec City, QC  

18 John Labatt Centre, London, ON

19 Air Canada Centre, Toronto, ON

20 Bell Centre, Montreal, QC

22 Moncton Coliseum, Moncton, NB  

23 Metro Centre, Halifax, NS 

by Unknown // Monday, November 16, 2009 // News, Upfront // 0 Comments

Nico Vega - UnCut
Free Music Videos at

Los Angeles rock trio Nico Vega recently stopped in Austin for the third time – as far as I can count – in ’09.  First, they were here for SXSW, followed by two gigs at Emo’s (inside stage) in May and October.

Touring in support of their first full-length studio album, Nico Vega, Roxwel was lucky enough to score an interview, along with an acoustic rendition of “Beast,” during SXSW.  And then we caught up with them again before their October 21 show at Emo’s, where we also shot their performance of “Protest Song,” “Living Underground,” “Taxi Cab,” and “Fe Fi Fo Fum.”

If you’ve ever listened to Nico Vega, it’s undeniable that Aja Volkman (vocals) has been influenced by strong and commanding female singers.  In fact, having been compared to the likes of Janis Joplin and Fiona Apple, Aja tells Roxwel that attending Tina Turner’s concert at the Staples Center last year had a major impact on her, seeing the sort of emotion that went into Turner’s voice and performance.

“It was really inspiring to me just to see a woman be so powerful, despite what she was battling,” she said.

Aja’s explosive live performances and soulful vocals are pretty inspiring themselves, and the band’s bio on their MySpace page seems very fitting – here’s an excerpt:

“Nico Vega represents a modern day saint.  A warrior that has led us to a more fulfilling, lighter way of being.  She represents people and unity.  She fights for all of us and teaches us to fight for each other.”   

This description sheds some light on Nico Vega as a whole, as well as the creation of individual songs, which is a collaborative process among the three – and a far cry from being formulaic.   It’s really all in the moment.  The only recurring theme seems to be what the experience of their live shows should produce for both the band and fans: a release.

Check out the full interview and see what else Aja, Rich Koehler (guitar) and Dan Epand (drums) have to say about music that has changed their stage presence, their songwriting process, what they’re thinking before a show, and how it’s been working with MySpace records.

Also, check out their full live performance of “Protest Song,”“Living Underground,”“Taxi Cab,” and “Fe Fi Fo Fum,” or watch each song as a single (by clicking on the individual songs) – it’s up to you!